Standardized Bull

All my life I’ve stood for the fact that GPAs and standardized tests don’t measure your intelligence; and I still firmly believe that. Sadly though, that’s not how our world works.

As a high school senior, I see how much our future relies on these scores. Setting kids apart, making some too proud and others feeling like idiots who can never compare. Why is it the way it is? Why must I feel like a dumbo because I am abysmal at math? Not because I don’t try, but because my brain doesn’t function that way.

If there’s one thing my high school has taught me it’s that if you struggle you’re not worthy of attention or recognition. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from common sense it’s to not listen to the lack of action the school portrays toward us average students.

Leave a Reply

