It’s Okay Not to Know

Firefighter, photographer, social case worker, teacher, hair dresser, architect, lawyer, judge, police officer, writer, mattress tester (best job ever right?), coast guard, coach.
All of these listed are phases I’ve gone through for career choices. All at different age levels, some more recent than others.

In my 18 years I haven’t decided what I want to do with my life, I have a few ideas but nothing set in stone. I’ve decided to go into communications because with that degree I can do a few different occupations I’m interested in.

What I’ve learned in the past year is that knowing when you’re 18 is so unrealistic. How am I, barely an adult, supposed to know what I want to do for the next 35 years?

For those who know, and actually stick to that major, good for you. That’s amazing and I’m slightly jealous.

To those who don’t, it’s okay! Chances are you’re going to change your major at least once in college anyway so why waste time and money on classes you don’t need? Why do something you won’t be happy with. Wait it out, one day, it will come to you, I promise.

We’re young adults and it’s sad that were pressured to have our life all figured out. We should be enjoying these years because once they’re gone they’re gone.

What has your experience been with career choices? Did you know right off the bat or did it take you awhile? Did you feel pressured to know? Feel free to share. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

