When Everyone’s Leaving

Freshman year of college is upon me and my fellow high school graduates. If I were to do what most do I’d be packing (way too much) to head off to a college that is way too expensive.  But I’m not, and that’s hard for me. 

Instead, I’m living at home with my parents and attending community college.

As I scroll through Instagram I see my friends posing in their new dorm rooms many adventures ahead of them. On Twitter I see, “Bye St. Joe, hello college!” Or “JUST ORDERED MY FIRST PIZZA AS A COLLEGE STUDENT!” (I have strange friends.) While parents post on Facebook about being empty nesters sending their baby off to adulthood. And I can’t relate. 

What I can relate to is having to pay for college on my own. 

Making the tough decision to stay home and save thousands of dollars. (Doesn’t sound tough.)

Living with my parents. 

Working through school. 

And seeing people get  away from the town where everyone knows everyone; a fresh start. 

Sure, it’s not my ideal situation, but it is what it is. I know that this decision will prevent me from having four years of debt but rather two.

What helps me through it?

A few of my close friends are staying right beside me in the town we grew up in. 

The amount of money I’m saving… Let’s just say my bank account is thankful and so is my sanity. 

I get to stay with my dog. 🙂

I have a job that works around my schedule very well.

And I’ll get my chance, eventually. 

Making the right choice financially sometimes stinks, but it’s worth it in the long run and that’s what really counts.

Leave a Reply

